Learning Resource Centre (Library) @ Kendriya Vidyalaya, Madurai


Any Time Any Where Information 4U





Author Unknown


I like books

I really do.

Books with stories

And pictures, too.


Books of birds

And things that grow.

Books of people

We should know.


Books of animals

And places, too.

I like books

I really do!






I like books

Big books

Little books

Happy books

Sad books

Books with pictures

Books with words

I like books




Hello Book!

by N.M. Bodecker


Hello book!

What are you up to?

Keeping yourself to yourself,

shut in between your covers,

a prisoner high on a shelf.

come in book!

What is your story?

Haven’t you ever been read?

Did you think

I would just pass by you

And pick me a comic instead?

No way book!

I’m your reader

I open you up.

Set you free.

Listen, I know a secret!

Will you share your secrets with me?




by Ann Turner


Do you remember

learning to read?

That book full of squiggles

like ants, escaped.

the teacher’s big thumb

on the page,

your heart beating inside

afraid that all you’d ever see

was ants—

Then a word popped out.

“See,” and another, “cat,”

and my finger on teacher’s

we read “I see cat.”

I ran around the room

so happy I saw words

instead of ants.



Independent Strategies

by Jill Marie Warner


When I get stuck on a word in a book,

There are lots of things I can do.

I can do them all, please, by myself;

I don’t need help from you.

I can look at the picture to get a hint.

Or think what the story’s about.

I can “get my mouth ready” to say the first letter.

A kind of “sounding out”.

I can chop up the words into smaller parts,

Like on or ing or ly,

Or find smaller words in compound words

Like raincoat and bumblebee.

I can think of a word that makes sense in that place,

Guess or say “blank” and read on

Until the sentence has reached its end,

Then go back and try these on:

“Does it make sense?”

“Can we say it that way?”

“Does it look right to me?”

Chances are the right word will pop out like the sun

In my own mind, can’t you see?

If I’ve thought of and tried out most of these things

And I still do not know what to do,

Then I may turn around and ask

For some help to get me through.





Now That I Can Read

I used to need somebody

To sit and read to me.

I’d look at every page they read

And listen carefully.

But now that I am in first grade,

I’m filling up a shelf

With stories, poems, and other books

That I can read myself.




Emergent Reader Poem


I’m trying hard to learn to read

But what’s a kid to do

When there’s a NO and a GO

and a SO and a HO,

And then there’s a word like TO?

Reading BONE and CONE and


Can almost be kind of fun,

But I get upset when I have to believe

That D-O-N-E spells DONE!

It’s plain to see a kid like me

Sure needs a helping hand.

No matter how much I really try

I just don’t understand.

I’m trying hard to learn to read.

Somehow that’s what I’ll do,

But for now if you’ll just read to me

Someday I’ll read to you!




Read to me

by Jane Yolen


Read to me riddles and read to me rhymes

Read to me stories of magical times

Read to me tales about castles and kings

Read to me stories of fabulous things

Read to me pirates and read to me knights

Read to me dragons and dragon-book fights

Read to me spaceships and cowboys and then

When you are finished- please read them again.




A Book Speaks

When you drop me on the floor

I get stepped on – my sides are sore;

Torn-out pages make me groan;

I feel dizzy if I’m thrown;

Every mark and every stain

On my covers gives me pain;

Please don’t bend me, if you do

I don’t want to talk to you;

But we will both be friends together,

If you protect me from the weather

And keep me clean so that I look

A tidy, neat and happy book.




Look in a Book

by Ivy O. Eastwick



in a book

and you will see


and magic

and mystery.



in a book

and you will find


and nonsense

of every kind.



in a book

and you will know


the things

that can help you grow.




In a Story Book

At night when sunshine goes away,

And it’s too dark for me to play,

I like to come inside, and look

For new friends in a story book.





A story is a special thing

The ones that I have read

They do not stay inside the books

They stay inside my head.


Welcome to school!

May this school year bring

You happiness galore,

And may you enjoy it-

Right to the core!




by Eileen Buckard Norris


Books lead folks

To other lands


Bind folks

With friendship bands


Tell folds of bygone days


Bring folks Tomorrow’s way.




Good Books, Good Times

by Lee Bennett Hopkins


Good books, good times

Good stories

Good rhymes

Good beginnings

Good ends

Good people

Good friends

Good fiction

Good facts

Good adventures

Good acts

Good stories

Good rhymes

GOOD books

GOOD times




What is a Book?

by Lora Duneta


A book is pages, pictures and words

A book is animals, people and birds

A book is stories of queens and kings

Poems and songs- so many things!

Curled in a corner where I can hide

With a book I can journey far and wide

Though it’s only paper from end to end

A book is a very special friend.




Adventures with Books

Author Unknown


Books are ships that sail the seas

To lands of snow or jungle trees

And I’m the captain bold and free

Who will decide which place we’ll see

Come let us sail the magic ship

Books are trains in many lands

Crossing hills or desert sands

And I’m the engineer who guides

The train on its exciting rides. Come, let us ride the magic train

Books are zoos that make a home

For birds and beasts not free to roam

And I’m the keeper of the zoo

I choose the things to show to you

Come, let us visit in a zoo

Books are gardens, fairies, elves

Cowboys and people like ourselves

And I can find with one good look

Just what I want inside a book

Come, let us read! For reading’s fun




Books To the Ceiling

by Arnold Lobel


Books to the ceiling

Books to the sky

My piles of books are a mile high

How I love them

How I need them

I’ll have a long beard by the time I read them





by Beverly McLoughland


The biggest


On the library shelf

is when you suddenly

Find yourself

Inside a book-

(the HIDDEN you)

You wonder how

The author knew.




Open A Book

by Jane Baskwill


Open a book

And you will find

People and places of every kind

Open a book

And you can be

Anything that you want to be:

Open a book

And you can share

Wondrous worlds you find in there

Open a book

And I will too

You read to me

And I’ll read to you.




What Is A Book?

by Lora Dunetz


A book is pages, pictures, and words;

A book is animals, people, and birds.


A book is stories of queens and kings,

Poems and songs – so many things!


Curled in a corner where I can hide,

With a book I can journey far and wide.


Though it’s only paper from end to end,

A book is a very special friend.




Filed under: Poems on Books & Reading, ,

Leave a Reply

Dear Visitors,

This is the official blog of Library and Media centre of Kendriya Vidyalaya, No.1, Madurai. This is an attempt to provide online service to the users community with the motive of 'Any time information' ' Anywhere information'. Feel free to express your comments and suggestions.

50 Years of KVS

Library blog visits:

  • 3,511,059 users

Thank You, On-line readers

Our library blog gets going with more than 12,00,000 hits. Whole- hearted thanks to all the students, staff and friends who made this great thing to happen. Keep giving your support for our growth. Thanks Apenty from your K.Ramasamy, Librarian

Contact Particulars

Lunch: 11:30 am - 12:oo noon
II Saturday and Sunday - Holidays

Joyful NBW Celebrations 2013

National Book Week, 14-20 Nov.2013

KVS Foundation Day Dec. 15, 2013

GokulashtamiDecember 15th, 2013
Let this Rama Navami bring more devotion in our reading degree !!!

Best Entries : Drawing and Book cover Designing Competition

Come on Readers, Let's celebrate the books

Library Tweets

  • Over 1000 Class 1 Forms Issued at KV No.1 Narimedu wp.me/pYEHW-10lTweeted on 1 year ago
  • Special Coaching for Slow Learners at KV No.1 Narimedu wp.me/pYEHW-10jTweeted on 1 year ago
  • 16/11/2013: Pravin, Dharani and Team from IX C presented a humorous skit on ' Tongue Twisters and Pallindromes'. (NBW 2013)Tweeted on 2 years ago
  • 16/11/2013: Srivathsan of Class XI A1 presented a speech on ' Does fiction reading help you anyway'. (NBW 2013)Tweeted on 2 years ago
  • 16/11/2013: A book quiz was conducted by Ram Balaji and Madhan Krishna of VIII A. ( NBW 2013).Tweeted on 2 years ago
  • 15/11/2013: Monisha Raghunathan and Ramajayam of Class IX D presented a heap of funny titles in the inaugural ceremony.Tweeted on 2 years ago
  • 15/11/2013: Aarthi of Class XI B shared the news about ' Library of Congress' - the largest library in the world.Tweeted on 2 years ago
  • 15/11/2013: Gayathri and Sandhya of Class IX C delivered a talk on ' Prolegomena to National Book Week'.Tweeted on 2 years ago
  • 15/11/2013: Inauguration of National Book Week, 2013 in KV Narimedu, Madurai at 9:00 am. Principal Shri.C.Muthiah inaugurated the NBW 2013.Tweeted on 2 years ago
  • Class X : Summative Assessment 1 - Sample Papers wp.me/pYEHW-ZoTweeted on 3 years ago


Your Suggestions

Mail your suggestion to ramasamylibkvm@gmail.com

Call the Librarian




October 2011
« Sep   Nov »

Blog developed and maintained by K.Ramasamy, Librarian, KV Madurai

Happy New Year 2014

National Book Week, 14-20, Nov.2013

Happy Book Week , My dear Readers !!! Expand your horizon of knoweledge via books........all through.......always....all ways

National Book Week, Nov.14-20, 2013

National Book Week, 2013

Read this Blog in Hindi

Read this Blog in Tamil

National Book Day upto

World Book DayNovember 20th, 2013
Let this World Book Week bring more goodness in our library use habits !!!

New Arrivals

Del.icio.us Bookmarks

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 562 other followers

RSS NDTV India News

RSS Cricketnext

RSS Blog for Scouts & Guides

  • Amendments made on 30/11/2014 – Guide Section
    Amendments made on 30/11/2014 – Guide Section Please click the following link to get amendments made in APRO III Guide section on 30/11/2014. APRO Part III – Guide SectionFiled under: AMENDMENTS Tagged: AMENDMENTS, APRO, guide section
  • Amendments made on 30/11/2014 – Scout Section
    Amendments made on 30/11/2014 – Scout Section Please click the following link to get the amendments made in APRO Part II – for scouts APRO Part II – Scout SectionFiled under: AMENDMENTS Tagged: AMENDMENTS, APRO, SCOUT SECTION
  • E-Books on Compass
    Two books on Compass 1) js_s_map-and-compass 2) mapcompassFiled under: 97.E-BOOKS ON SCOUTING, COMPASS Tagged: COMPASS, MAPPING, scout quiz
  • Scout Quizzzzzzzzzzzzz
    BADEN POWELL AND SCOUTING 1. Who is the founder of Scouting / Guiding? Lord Baden Powell of Gilwell. 2. Where was Baden-Powell born? When? In Gilwell, on Feb 22, 1857. 3. What the full name B.P? Robert Stephenson Smyth Baden-Powell. 4. Who was B.P’s mother? Daughter of the British Admiral W. T. Sonyth. 5. Who […]
  • Scout Quiz Questions 4 U
    Some Scout Quiz Questions to Ponder………. I Set 1. What was Baden-Powell’s Christian name? Robert Richard Rupert 2. In which year was B-P born? 1847 1857 1927 3. What was the name of the town in South Africa BP saved whilst in the Army? Mafeking Mafeprince Mafequeen 4. On his return to England, BP wrote […]
